makin’ baby food: green beans

I make my own baby food! One: because I know exactly whats going into Cami girls food and two: because its way cheaper than buying baby food! Im all about saving the bucks, people!

So first, I obviously went to the store and bought some green beans.. I don’t know how many “pounds” I got but I know I paid less than 2 dollars for them.

LRG_DSC03156

Next you want to make sure you wash your green beans. They may be fresh but you want to make sure you wash your fruits and veggies because of pesticides and stuff.

LRG_DSC03164

Next cut off all the ends to your green beans. I bought plastic cutting mats especially for Cami girls fruits and  veggies, because Im a freak about cross contamination so I just bought a pack of some cheap ones at target here.

LRG_DSC03168

Next I add my green beans into a steamer, I prefer to steam Camis veggies instead of boiling.. again I don’t know why.. Maybe there’s some scientific backing to this or something but I don’t know it. haha! Also ignore my dirty stove please.. be nice.. haha! I leave them in there for a while. For making baby food ive found that the softer it is the easier to blend, and make smooth so I just leave them with no time restraint.

LRG_DSC03172

Once they’re nice and soft put them into your blender, Cami girl likes her food on the thick side so I don’t add too much water to it (you can also add formula but water is just fine). Blend away until you’ve got your preferred consistency. My blender has a “smoothie” option and that’s what I use to get a nice smooth blend.

LRG_DSC03173

If one good thing came out of me being unable to breast feed its that I have so many of these storage bags that I now use to bag up Cami girls food! They’re very convenient because you can bag up your baby’s serving size, close it up and freeze them. These bags are designed to freeze breast milk and them withstand hot water to thaw them out so they’re perfect.

LRG_DSC03175

Next I start bagging up Camis food in servings of 3 table-spoons each. You can bag up in whatever serving size your baby eats.

LRG_DSC03182

After I’ve bagged up all the food I label with the type of food, date, and serving size.

LRG_DSC03186

For under 2 dollars I got 8 servings of food for about the same price as buying one pack of baby food! Woo!

After it’s all packaged up I put them all in the freezer until its time for Cami girl to eat, I then run it under hot water in the sink to thaw and its good to go!

 

thanks for reading! please follow because I try to post every week. leave a comment!

-nw

3 thoughts on “makin’ baby food: green beans

Leave a comment